jersey cattle society
Jersey Cattle Society
of the United Kingdom
The Studio @ The Mill
Mill Lane
Little Shrewley
Warwickshire CV35 7HN
General Enquiries T: 01926 484035
Cattle Registrations T: 01923 695203

East Anglian Jersey Cattle Club

History of the Club

The first meeting of the Committee of the East Anglian Club was held at the Angel Hotel, Bury St Edmunds on April 1st 1948 at 2pm.

The rules of the East Anglian Jersey Club were discussed and it became the East Anglian Jersey Cattle Club, the club was then affliated to the English Jersey Cattle Society, in 1956 the English Jersey Society became the Jersey Cattle Society of the UK. In 2008 this was changed to become UK Jerseys.

Mr Porter from Pensthorpe Hall, Fakenham was the first Chairman and the Secretary Mr Nott came from Pebmarsh, Sudbury.

On May 13th 1948 at a committee meeting the Secretary was instructed to write to the English Jersey Cattle Society and press them to demand a higher premium for Jersey milk, (nothing changes)!!

At the committee meeting on 14th October 1948 the secretary said there were 102 members of the East Anglian Jersey Club (if only)!! Annual Subscriptions were £1-1-0d, associate members 10/6d.

At the first AGM held at The White Horse Hotel on 17th March 1949, Sir John Ruggles Brise said the Club was the strongest in the country.

At the next committee meeting it was agreed to pay the secretary £150 per annum but this was reduced in 1957 to £50 per annum. The club nearly folded in 1953 but it was decided to continue.

On 9th December 1948 Mr Eglinton offered a cup for milk average, (the secretary to have a workable scheme for the next committee meeting) and at a committee meeting in 1949 Sir John Ruggles Brise presented a cup for the highest milking cow, these 2 cups are presented each year at our AGM. The Postlethwaite Cup was presented later in 1962.

In 1952 Miss Joy Spurgeon, daughter of Frank Spurgeon, now Mrs Roger Kidner was Hon Secretary for 2 years followed by Mr Nott, followed in 1957 by Mrs Rumsey a Guernsey lady, and in 1959 Mr Holland was appointed as Secretary and Treasurer At the 1972 AGM Geraldine Roper became secretary with Frank Mahon becoming the Treasurer, Mr Holland stayed as the club’s auditor. Su Mahon became the secretary in 1975.

The Halesworth Jersey Club amalgamated with the EAJCC in 1963, in their heyday they had 40 members.

In the last 60 years there have been 13 Chairmen, 6 Treasurers and 6 Secretaries, the last 2 officers having been 36 years and 33 years respectively.

tumpline internet Copyright © 1998 - 2018 Jersey Cattle Society of the United Kingdom
Registered Charity No. 252271
VAT Reg No 199 3065 26
A Company limited by Guarantee. Registered in England No.18573
tumpline internet